• image1
  • image2
  • image3
  • image4

Recent News

John Nees earns Research Faculty Achievement Award

2024-05-16 John Nees, research scientist at the Gérard Mourou Center for Ultrafast Optical Sciences (CUOS), has received a 2024 Research Faculty Achievement Award from the Office of the Vice President for Research. John has been a key contributor to the many ultrafast and high science advancements accomplished at CUOS.

María C. Garcia’s research receives wide news coverage

2024-02-09 Prof. María C. Garcia, of the Universidad de Córdoba (Spain) and international MIPSE member, and her colleagues Prof. Francisco J. Romero-Salguero and Dr. Juan Amaro-Gahete, have received wide European coverage on their recent advancement on microwave plasma water treatment.

Carolyn Kuranz receives the Faculty Recognition Award

2023-10-25 Prof. Carolyn Kuranz has been honored with the Faculty Recognition Award. These awards are intended for mid-career faculty members who have demonstrated remarkable contributions to the university through achievements in scholarly research or creative endeavors; excellence as a teacher, adviser, and mentor; and distinguished participation in service activities of the university and elsewhere.

Peter Bruggeman is inaugural recipient of U-M Prize in Plasma Science and Engineering

2023-10-11 Prof. Peter J. Bruggeman of the University of Minnesota has been awarded the University of Michigan Prize for Excellence in Plasma Science and Engineering, “For contributions to the understanding of non-thermal plasma interactions with solids, liquids, and living matter, scientific leadership, and advancement of plasma-based technologies enabling applications in plasma-biology, chemical conversion, and water treatment.”

Astrophysics, nuclear fusion centers receive $27M

2023-06-20 Congratulations to Prof. Carolyn Kuranz and Prof. Ryan McBride on the renewal and expansion of their plasma science centers, funded by the National Nuclear Security Administration! Prof. Kuranz directs the Center for High Energy Density Laboratory Astrophysics Research, which has been renewed for 5 years with $12.5 million funding. Prof. McBride directs the Center for Magnetic Acceleration, Compression and Heating which has also been renewed for 5 years with $14.5 million in funding.

Louise Willingale receives 2023 EECS Outstanding Achievement Award

2023-03-27 Prof. Louise Willingale received an Outstanding Achievement Award from the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science “for exceptional contributions to research and education in laser-plasma science”. The award recognizes individual faculty for special contributions made in teaching, research, and/or service.

UM Prize for Excellence in Plasma Science and Engineering 2023 - Call for Nominations

2023-02-08 The Michigan Institute for Plasma Science and Engineering and the University of Michigan College of Engineering have established the UM Prize for Excellence in Plasma Science and Engineering to acknowledge contributions to significant advances in plasma science and engineering that have or will lead to significant societal benefits. Nominations (due June 1, 2023) are solicited from the general plasma community, see the Prize webpage for details.

Michael Liemohn receives Trudy Huebner Service Excellence Award

2023-02-06 Prof. Michael Liemohn received the Trudy Huebner Service Excellence Award for his excellent service in the space sciences and at the University of Michigan. This award honors faculty who demonstrate significant service to the college or university, including advising student groups and developing extracurricular programs.

MSU leads MMICC center on Fusion Energy Modeling

2022-11-13 The CHaRMNET Mathematical Multifaceted Integrated Capability Center (MMICC) is motivated by the need to develop accurate long-term modeling of plasma systems for fusion energy and national security that are suitable for optimization and uncertainty quantification at the engineering scale. Led by Michigan State University and Los Alamos National Laboratory, CHaRMNET brings together national leaders from five universities and four DOE national labs in the mathematical modeling of plasmas.

Carolyn Kuranz to present a Saturday Morning Physics lecture

2022-10-21 On December 10, 2022, Prof. Carolyn Kuranz will present a public lecture titled “Fluid Instabilities: Stars, Bars, and Fusion”, as part of the Saturday Morning Physics lecture series.

Update: The lecture is available on YouTube.

Louise Willingale, Justin Kasper, and Franklin Dollar elected APS Fellows

2022-10-19 Three members of the MIPSE community were elected 2022 Fellows of the American Physical Society:

  • Prof. Louise Willingale: “For significant contributions to the experimental understanding of ion acceleration, electron acceleration and magnetic field dynamics resulting from relativistic laser plasma interactions.”
  • Prof. Justin Kasper: “For fundamental contributions to the understanding of instabilities, collisions, and heating in the solar wind, and for conceiving and building innovative spacecraft instrumentation that has advanced the field of space plasma physics.”
  • MIPSE alum and 2011-2012 MIPSE Fellow, Prof. Franklin Dollar: “For exceptional contributions to intense field laser science and for exceptional service in promoting a diverse and inclusive plasma physics community.”

Xianzhe Jia receives U-M Faculty Recognition Award

2022-10-03 Prof. Xianzhe Jiahas received the Faculty Recognition Award from the University of Michigan. The award honors faculty who have made remarkable achievements in scholarly research or creative endeavors; excellence as a teacher, adviser and mentor; and distinguished participation in service activities of the university and elsewhere.

Dissertation defense: Brandon Russell (EECS)

2022-09-14 Brandon Russell’s PhD defense will be on September 26, 2022, at 2:00 pm. Brandon is a 2019-2020 MIPSE Fellow. Dissertation title: Magnetic Field Dynamics and Shock Physics at the High Intensity Frontier of Laser Plasma Interactions. Chair: Prof. Louise Willingale.

Q&A session with NSF Program Director for Plasma Physics

2022-08-31 MIPSE students and post-docs are invited to meet with Dr. Vyacheslav (Slava) Lukin, National Science Foundation Program Director for Plasma Physics. MIPSE will host an in-person Q&A session with Dr. Lukin for graduate students and post-docs to discuss plasma physics programs and opportunities at the NSF. The session will be on Tuesday, September 27, 4:00 - 5:00 pm, on the U-M North campus, 3213 LEC (Johnson Rooms). Refreshments will be provided.

Advance registration is required. Please register here by September 23, 2022. If you have any questions, please send an email to mipse-central@umich.edu.

This session will be a follow-up to the NSF Plasma Physics Semi-Annual Webinar, to be held on Friday, September 23, 3:00 - 4:00 pm. It is strongly recommended to attend the Webinar in preparation for the Q&A session.

Louise Willingale named Kavli Fellow by the National Academy of Sciences

2022-04-15 Prof. Louise Willingale has been named a Kavli Fellow by the National Academy of Sciences. She served as a featured speaker at the 2022 Kavli Frontiers of Science U.S. Symposium, which is the Academy’s premiere activity for distinguished young scientists.

1st US Low Temperature Plasma Summer School

2022-03-24 The 2022 1st US Low Temperature Plasma School will be held at the University of Minnesota on June 12-17, 2022. The Summer School is intended to provide an opportunity for graduate students to be immersed in the fundamentals and applications of low-temperature plasmas for one week and to learn from leading researchers in their field. Registration deadline: May 1st, 2022, or until the maximum number of participants is reached.